School Ready

Today I have been organising a stall for our local ‘Ready for School’ roadshow. This roadshow is run by our local Children’s Centre for local families of children under 5. It addresses all the things that parents need to consider to ensure their child is ready to access school in Reception. Their theme is don’t wait until it’s too late. School readiness, in Derbyshire, is believed to be a journey. A journey which starts when children are very young and it focuses on 10 key things:

The 10 keys for unlocking school readiness are:
I can settle happily without my parent or carer
I can tell friends and grown-ups what I need
I can take turns and share when I am playing
I can go to the toilet on my own and wash my hands
I can put on my own coat and shoes and feed myself
I can tell a grown up if I am happy, sad or cross
I know that what I do and say can make others happy or unhappy
I am curious and want to learn and play
I can stop what I am doing, listen and follow simple instructions
I enjoy sharing books with grown-ups

https://www.derbyshire.gov.uk/education/early-years-childcare/ready-for-school/ready-for-school-in-derbyshire.aspx

As a school we are attending to talk about what school is like for the young children at our school.

We are taking this opportunity to talk to families about how the school is leading on the climate change agenda. Take every opportunity!

Children are never to young to understand how the world is warming up!

 

Published by

Fiona Cowan

Told from my perspective I hope it gives you a flavour of what our children experience at school and beyond.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *